Origin : Kenya
Instrument :
Styles : Hip-Hop
Kleptomaniax are a pop group from Kenya. The group consists of three members: Roba (Robert Manyasa), Collo (Collins Majale) and Nyashinski (Nyamari Ongegu). Kleptomaniax were formed in 1999, when they were still high school students at the Nairobi School. The group joined the Ogopa DJ's label and released their first single, "Freak it" in 2002 and was followed by "Maniax Anthem" and "Haree". In 2004 the group released another single "Tuendelee", which became their biggest hit so far. The song was written as a response for the "Diss track" by various hip hop musician, who criticised the commercial Kapuka music style performed by Kleptomaniax among others.
Their debut album M4E (an abbreviation for Maniax for ever) was released in 2005. Later that year the group received a MTV Europe Music Awards nomination for the Best African Act, a category awarded for the first time, but won by 2 face Idibia from Nigeria.
In 2007 Kleptomaniax toured the USA . After 2007 the group had a break while their members engaged in solo projects. The group has since made comeback, but have left Ogopa DJ's. The group is set to release their second album NITT (Now Is The Time) in 2009.

Kleptomaniax : discography

Kleptomaniax - M4E album cover Album : M4E

You may buy theses Albums on : www.amazon.com